Gracing Pages: Michelle Rodriguez for Interview Magazine


img-michelle-rodriguez_092326653905
About having kids: It’s not just that. I do what I want, when I want, how I want, and because of that, it has taken me so long to grow into an adult human being. I wouldn’t want to sacrifice the last years that I have of being youthful in this business to have kids. I’m 36, Milla. It’s been 15 years since I was the lead in my own feature, in Girlfight. So I haven’t done what I came here to do. I’m just kind of fiddling around. I haven’t even been born yet. I’ve been part of really big things that are amazing, but I haven’t taken on that responsibility yet. So I don’t want to sell myself short by having a kid and then regret not doing what I set out to do.

img-michelle-rodriguez_092207949212

About playing other roles (comedic or softer characters): You know what it is, Milla? I’m a picky little bitch. I hate everything. I say no to everything. That’s my problem. Maybe I’ve been sitting here with this gift and not using it appropriately. Maybe I should be developing shit from scratch. Because there’s a voice inside of me that I know people will relate to; I just haven’t really had the opportunity to let it flourish. To sit there and explain to a guy what it’s like to be a kick-ass woman is hard. I think there’re only a handful of directors out there that get it—you married one. Maybe if women like you or me were behind the camera or writing these scripts, it’d be different.

I really would love that. I wish that something interesting would come across the desk. I’m bored by what people think is interesting.

I’d love to see four girls who actually get along in a movie that’s not about chasing some guy or marrying somebody. [laughs] Like, where the fuck is our Pulp Fiction? Where is our Reservoir Dogs? Where’s that cool shit with the chicks kicking ass, having some fun? I’ve met some really crazy bitches in my life and I’ve had lots of really amazing friends; I want to see that onscreen. Maybe I’ll take some time off and just go write, because, fuck it. What do I have to lose?

img-michelle-rodriguez_092225971240

About her personal life: [laughs] I’ve always been and will always be very private about my personal life. If anything ever goes public, it is by default, because I happened to be in a place where I was being watched. But for the most part, I honestly don’t care what people think. I never have. If I did, I’d probably present myself a little more carefully. [laughs] I should have a fucking tattoo on my forehead that says, “Insert foot in mouth.” No politician in their right mind would ever want me to campaign for them.

Interviewed by Milla Jovovich

 

img-michelle-rodriguez_092250636146 img-michelle-rodriguez_092306531872 img-michelle-rodriguez_092343673592 img-michelle-rodriguez_092400126498

Source: Interview

Leave a Reply

