Common’s New Set to be Released in December

According to, Common has announced Dec. 9 as the new release date for his forthcoming Geffen album, “Universal Mind Control.” The set was originally expected in July.

Two songs, “Announcement” and “Universal Mind Control” both of which feature Pharrell Williams, have already been released. The album also includes two fresh songs, “Gladiator” and “Inhale.”

The former comes closest to prototypical sincere Common rapping, as he rhymes about destroying other MCs over horn wails, driving drums and a thick bassline.

“Punch Drunk Love” now features Kanye West spitting the catchy chorus “Am I crazy, or was you giving me the eye?” “Sex 4 Sugar,” which Common previously described as a conversation with a dancer, now has faster drums, and “Everywhere,” which was formerly called “Runaway” and set to feature Santogold, now sports a dreamy layered chorus, sans Santogold, over a guitar riff similar to Pat Benatar’s “Love Is a Battlefield.”

The album’s production is still split between the Neptunes and OutKast cohort Mr. DJ. West has not contributed any production to “Universal Mind Control.”

Here is the track listing for “Universal Mind Control”:

“Universal Mind Control”
“Punch Drunk Love” featuring Kanye West
“Make My Day” featuring Cee-Lo Green
“Sex 4 Sugar”
“Announcement” featuring Pharrell Williams
“What a World”


One thought on “Common’s New Set to be Released in December

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s